Day 2

Thanks everyone for your comments! It is so good to hear from all of you! Day 2 was another amazing day. We woke up at 5:30 and were leaving for the villages again at 6:30. It was such a beautiful day. It seems like the more and more we go back and forth on the same road the more God reveals to me, whether it is through the beautiful scenery or the talks we have in the vans on the way down to the village. Today we sanded the mud on the walls, put up stucco, and added patios to all of the houses. While doing the stucco (a pink color we put on the outside of the house…basically mud and water) we designated half of us to put stucco on the walls and the other half to run it to those who needed it. The one thing that surprised me was the amount of willingness the kids had to help. They were constantly running back and forth bringing stucco and having a blast. After we were done some of the kids and their families that were around had a stucco fight, putting some on each other, and they were so full of joy! So much laughter came through the village today and it blessed me so much! Today there were a lot more kiddos around and now that we had been there a day the faces looked more familiar today and most of us have even developed a relationship with a buddy or two My favorite part of today- when two little girls, about 5, sung for me. We were finishing up lunch when myself and another team member were surrounded by about 4 or 5 girls. The two girls that sang to me were right on my lap and sitting by my feet when they asked if I sang..I sheepishly responded no, but when I asked them they exuberantly answered yes and they started singing! It was so beautiful…I have idea what they were singing about but I could not have been more blessed. It’s amazing the people that God places in your path at a certain time and for a certain reason, and these girls were definitely a blessing to me!
Our food today was the best food I have ever had! Seriously! We had chicken salad or guacamole on tostadas with rice. I could seriously live on that food forever! It was SO good! Tonight we were served the best potato soup ever, and coming from a not-so much soup lover, it was the best! I even had 2nds! haha
Other fun fact for the day–since we are surrounded by volcanos– we got to see them poof out smoke! Definitely sweet! haha

I can’t believe that today is already Wednesday and that we will be leaving once again before we know it. Another team member and I voted that we just stay here, we all love it so much. It has really opened my eyes to how awesome God is and how much power he has and I am constantly reminded how Jesus would have served these people, just by hanging out and loving on them. Even though I will probably not see many or most of these people and children again I could not share enough about how much they have impacted me and blessed me and it’s only the 2nd day.
God is so good!

Again, thank you so much, all of you, for your notes and thoughts and prayers! We can definitely feel your prayers working-definitely.

Well, I hope you all have a good night! I will hopefully be able to share again tomorrow
Much love–
Shaelee for the team

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

